Research Data Year 2020 - In review

Over our Research Data Year the average percentage of journals that have data policies across participating publishers went up 80% whilst the number of articles that contained data availability statements more than doubled, from 7% to 15%.

More

Scholarly Publishing – The Facts

The 5th Edition of The STM Report provides a comprehensive overview of the current status of the scientific and scholarly publishing industry

More

Latest news

Applications for the 2021 STM Mentoring programme are now open

Mentoring facilitates the sharing of knowledge, expertise, skills, insights and experiences through dialogue and collaborative learning.

The STM mentoring scheme is designed to support your professional development and help you achieve your career goals in the publishing industry.

For more information on eligibility, programme structure and to register your interest in participating as a mentor or mentee, please visit our dedicated mentoring page

STM organizes Policy and Advocacy Update Webinar on 10/12/2020

As this extremely eventful year draws to a close, STM wishes to provide our members an update on public policy and other timely initiatives that have the potential to impact STM members publishing operations.

To this end, the first Policy and Advocacy Update Webinar will take place on Thursday, 10 December at 7.00 am EST, 12.00 pm BST, 1.00 pm CET, 8.00 pm China, 9.00 pm Tokyo. We hope that this will be the first of a series of events.

Participants will also have the opportunity to ask questions and offer their own perspectives. If you wish to take part, please reach out to Barbara and Claudia.

Call-in details and an agenda will be shared with participants shortly

The Future of Peer Review - expert roundtables

Two cross-sectoral expert roundtables – co-organised by ALLEA, GYA, and STM – will discuss the future of peer review in an open, digital world and will explore which models can best serve and reward the research community in both an enhanced and sustainable way. Read about the two events here 

New white paper explores how the transition to Open Access could be made more equitable for the Global South

The newly published ICSR white paper: ‘Achieving an equitable transition to open access for researchers in lower and middle-income countries examines how the playing field can be levelled from the authorship side also, permitting knowledge production in lower and middle-income countries (LMICs) to find a wider audience. Read the press release and listen to the CCC podcast with Director of Outreach and Publisher Coordinator for Research4Life – Andrea Powell.