Graduate Publishing

 

Webinar | From academia to publishing – a panel of postdocs share their experience
Wednesday 9 December, 2020: 15-16.15pm GMT

What does STM publishing have to offer for academics / researchers / post Docs? Why would an academic consider switching careers, and move from the university and the lab to publishing other academics’ work in journals and books? In this webinar, we explore the career paths of academics who have made the career switch to publishing. Why move to publishing, and what is it like? What can research and publishing learn from each other as communities? What insights do our speakers have on change? What careers advice do they have for those considering the same path?

Chair:

  • Kerys Martin  (Wiley)

Speakers: 

  • Priscilla Braglia (Elsevier)
  • Aditi Nadkarni (Wiley)
  • Liz Turner (Taylor & Francis)
  • Sheridan Willis (Wiley)

Graduates now are better informed and presented with more information than ever before through online resources. At STM we feel it is important to curate content that is tailored towards people who wish to learn about the right opportunities for them, and to better inform their career and self-development decision making.

To that end the Graduate Space aims to provide key information in the areas below, to raise awareness of STM publishing as a viable career option:

  • University publishing courses;
  • work experience opportunities;
  • publishing vacancies;
  • and the STM Early Career social media groups

We hope you find these resources useful for facilitating your career and progression. We would welcome any feedback on this, and any other requirements for graduates entering the publishing industry.

 

 


Graduates now are better informed and presented with more information than ever before through online resources. At STM we feel it is important to curate content that is tailored towards people who wish to learn about the right opportunities for them, and to better inform their career and self-development decision making.

To that end the Graduate Space aims to provide key information in the areas below, to raise awareness of STM publishing as a viable career option:

  • University publishing courses;
  • work experience opportunities;
  • publishing vacancies;
  • and the STM Early Career social media groups

We hope you find these resources useful for facilitating your career and progression. We would welcome any feedback on this, and any other requirements for graduates entering the publishing industry.

Country University Course Link Contact
Name
Email
Germany Gutenberg-Institut für Weltliteratur und schriftorientierte Medien Masters in Book Studies http://www.buchwissenschaft.uni-mainz.de/ Secretary sekretariat-buchwissenschaft@uni-mainz.de
Netherlands Leiden University MA Book and Digital Media Studies https://www.universiteitleiden.nl/en/education/study-programmes/master/media-studies Jurjen Donkers j.donkers@hum.leidenuniv.nl
New Zealand Whitireia New Zealand Graduate Diploma in Publishing (Applied) http://www.whitireiapublishing.co.nz/courses/graduate-diploma-in-publishing-applied/ Helen Heath helen.heath@whitireia.ac.nz
South Africa University of the Witwatersrand BA Honours - Publishing Studies https://www.wits.ac.za/sllm/disciplines/publishing-studies/ Colleen Dawson Colleen.Dawson@wits.ac.za
Spain Universidad CEU San Pablo BA Digital Communications http://www.uspceu.com/international_website/uk/estudio.aspx Laura Garcia Lopez internationalstudents@ceu.es
Sweden Lund University Publishing Studies program in the Department of Arts and Cultural Sciences http://www.kultur.lu.se/en/research/research-subjects/fbm/    
Sweden Lund University Publishing Studies program in the Department of Arts and Cultural Sciences http://www.kultur.lu.se/en/research/research-subjects/fbm/ Academic advisor studievagledare@kansliht.lu.se
UK Edinburgh Napier University MSc Publishing https://www.napier.ac.uk/courses/msc-publishing-postgraduate-fulltime Avril Gray a.gray@napier.ac.uk
UK London College of Communication MA Publishing MA Publishing Patrick Brindle Patrick.Brindle.2@city.ac.uk
UK Loughborough University BA (Hons) Publishing and English Publishing and English Jenny Fry J.Fry@lboro.ac.uk
UK Middlesex University BA Publishing and Digital Culture Publishing and Media Josie Barnard J.Barnard@mdx.ac.uk
UK Oxford Brookes University BA Publishing Oxford International Centre for Publishing Studies   arts-enquiry@brookes.ac.uk
UK Plymouth University MA Publishing Publishing Paul Honeywill P.Honeywill@plymouth.ac.uk
UK Southampton Solent University MA Journalism and Multimedia Publishing Richard Berry richard.berry@solent.ac.uk
UK University College London MA in Publishing Department of Information Studies Melanie Ramdarshan Bold m.bold@ucl.ac.uk
UK University of Central Lancashire MA in Publishing Publishing Debbie Williams DJWilliams1@uclan.ac.uk
UK University of Hertfordshire BA (Hons) Media and Publishing English Literature with New Media Publishing David Trebus humadmissions@herts.ac.uk
UK University of Stirling Mlitt in Publishing Studies / MRes in Publishing Studies https://www.publishing.stir.ac.uk/about/ Lesley McIntosh l.s.d.mcintosh@stir.ac.uk
USA Carnegie Mellon University Master of Arts in Professional Writing https://www.cmu.edu/dietrich/english/graduate/ma-pw/ Christine Neuwirth cmn@cmu.edu
USA Emerson College MA in Publishing and Writing https://www.emerson.edu/writing-literature-publishing/publishing-writing John Rodzvilla john_rodzvilla@emerson.edu
USA George Washington University Publishing Master of Professional Studies https://cps.gwu.edu/publishing-master-professional-studies John W. Warren jww@email.gwu.edu
USA New York University MSc in Publishing: Digital and Print Media http://www.scps.nyu.edu/academics/departments/publishing/academic-offerings/ms-in-publishing.html Andrea L. Chambers andrea.chambers@nyu.edu
USA Portland State University Masters in Book Publishing https://publishing.pdx.edu/ Rachel Noorda rnoorda@pdx.edu
USA Rochester Institute of Technology Masters in Print Media http://www.rit.edu/programs/print-media-ms Bruce Myers blmppr@rit.edu
USA The New School MA in Creative Publishing and Critical Journalism https://www.newschool.edu/nssr/creative-publishing-critical-journalism/ James Miller libstudy@newschool.edu
USA University of Baltimore M.F.A. in Creative Writing & Publishing Arts http://www.ubalt.edu/cas/graduate-programs-and-certificates/degree-programs/creative-writing-publishing-arts/index.cfm Betsy Boyd bboyd@ubalt.edu
USA University of Denver Denver Publishing Institute https://www.du.edu/publishinginstitute/ Jill Smith jill.smith@du.edu
USA University of St. Thomas, Minnesota MA in Creative Writing and Publishing https://www.stthomas.edu/english/graduate/cwp/ Soren Hoeger-Lerdal sorenhl@stthomas.edu; gradenglish@stthomas.edu

Information correct as of November 2019