Publisher members of STM may become signatories to the STM Permissions Guidelines, which provide a streamlined procedure for permissions between signatories to use extracts from copyright works.  The majority of the STM Signatories partner with the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) to implement RightsLink®, an automated permissions solution on their websites directly from the point of content.

For avoidance of doubt, not eligible for clearance under these STM Permissions Guidelines are re-publication requests in relation to primary publication materials in secondary or tertiary publications where less than 70% of the total secondary or tertiary publications consist of original material and, thus, 30% or more of materials may be non-primary or originated by third parties.

The STM Permissions Group comprises of the Rights, Permissions and Licensing Managers representing the permissions departments of many STM publishers which are signatories to the Permissions Guidelines, to promote a common understanding of the terms of the Guidelines.  The Permissions Group can help with the training, even induction, of new permissions officers of Signatories to the Guidelines, in relation to the use of the Guidelines.

The STM Permissions Group is made up of the following:

Kathy Amrose, SAE International
Matthew Bailey, Royal Society of Chemistry
Bonnie Beacher, McGraw-Hill Professional
Rob Bennett, Journal of Orthopedic Sport & Physical Therapy (JOSPT)
Erika Brunner, Karger
Erin Buck, American Mathematical Society
Gill Cockhead, Royal Society of Chemistry
Kelly Cohen, Optica Publishing Group
Sara Coles, Johnson Matthey Technology Review
Rebecca Cook, John Wiley & Sons
Apostolos Damialis, EMS Press
Paulette Dooler, Taylor & Francis (including Informa)
Barbara Elias, Thieme Publishing Group
Louise Eyre, Oxford University Press
Nicola Haden, Royal Society of Chemistry
Julie Halfacre, BMJ
Suzanne Inge, AIP Publishing
Lijun Jin, OAE Publishing Inc.
Ben Kennedy, Oxford University Press
Simon Laurenson, Bioscientifica
Yingfang Liu, Tsinghua University Press
Shou Hwa Liu, Portland Press
Ian Mellor, British Small Animal Veterinary Association (BSAVA)
Kathrin Muellenbach, DeGruyter
Rachel Norton, McGraw-Hill Professional
Wendy Patterson, Beilstein-Institut
Susan Philcox, CABI
Natalie Qureshi, Elsevier
Thomas Ramsden, Wolters Kluwer Health
Elisabeth Riley, Johnson Matthey Technology Review
Barbara Ryan, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Katie Scarff, Cambridge University Press
Megan Schindel, W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.
Sebastian Schmitt, DeGruyter
Heike Schwabenthan, Thieme Publishing Group
Silvia Serra, Springer Nature (Chair)
Tushar Shakya, Canadian Science Publishing
Eric Slater, American Chemical Society
Tim Spanner, Taylor & Francis (including Informa)
Angelina Storti, Springer Nature
Kassie Stovell, American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN)
Meredith Taylor, Sinauer (an imprint of Oxford University Press)
Mai Tian, Open Exploration Publishing
Elizabeth Trammell, W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.
Keri Travis, American Chemical Society
Kruna Vukmirovic, The Institution of Engineering and Technology (The IET)
Ruochen Xian, Tech Science Press
Sally Wilson, Emerald Publishing
Cameron Wood, IOP Publishing
Antoinette Wrighton, Endocrine Society


Permissions Guidelines

Since their introduction in 1979 (with revisions in 1998, 2003 and 2008, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2020, 2022), the STM Permissions Guidelines on the re-use of limited amounts of material from published works have helped STM member companies facilitate the publishing process in many cases where delays and costs would have otherwise been incurred.

Find out more


STM has partnered with Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), a not-for-profit organization and leading provider of licensing solutions, to offer RightsLink at a discounted rate. STM recognizes that in these challenging economic times our members can benefit greatly from this revenue-generating solution.

Find out more

Other pages in this section