STM Week 2021 – STM Solutions Seminar

STM Solutions Seminar

This event will highlight current research challenges which underline the need for collaborative solutions across the STM ecosystem.

Launched earlier this year, STM Solutions has initially been most active in the access space, with GetFTR and SeamlessAccess among its key projects. However, its remit is meant to be broad to encompass research integrity, metrics, and diversity across the publishers and suppliers that make up STM membership.

Join us for a mix of formats that will update attendees on current initiatives, up-and-coming trends, and stakeholder perspectives.

Managed by Hylke Koers, Chief Information Officer, STM Solutions and
Heather Staines, Director of Community Engagement and a Senior Consultant, Delta Think

Programme

9:00 EST/ 14:00 GMT/ 15:00 CET
Opening and Welcome by Heather Staines, Director of Community Engagement and Senior Consultant, Delta Think

9:10 EST/ 14:10 GMT/ 15:10 CET
Opening keynote:
Ann Michael, CEO Delta Think

9:40 EST/ 14:40 GMT/ 15:40 CET
Lightning talks on STM Solutions key initiatives 2021: GetFTR, SeamlessAccess, Research Integrity

10:00 EST/ 15:00 GMT/ 16:00 CET
Break with virtual ‘meet the presenters’ via Gather town

10:30 EST/ 15:30 GMT/ 16:30 CET
Panel discussion: Accessibility

Moderated by Mark McCallum, Business Development & Marketing Director at codeMantra) and including:

The recent groundswell over inclusion and equity combined with the developing requirements of the European Union Disability Act to make accessible digital content mandatory have brought accessibility into a more central focus. No longer can we think of accessibility affordances as something we do at only one stage of the workflow or only something we retrofit at hosting. From involving authors (and potentially machines) in the creation of alt-text, to semantic enrichment of metadata, to ensuring interoperability with a wide array of accessibility software, this topic touches every aspect of the publication workflow for books and journals. As we support both human-readable and machine-readable content, we can readily see how following and creating best practices supports readers and researchers more broadly, not just those who demonstrate a current accessibility need.

Stacy Scott, Royal National Institute for the Blind
Ted Gies, Web Accessibility and UX leader, Elsevier
Barry Bealer, Access Innovations

11:30 EST/ 16:30 GMT/ 17:30 CET
Reflections and close by Hylke Koers, CIO STM Solutions


Events Terms and Conditions

Cancellation
Where an event has registration fees, cancellations made in writing up to 30 days before an event are eligible for a 50% refund. No refunds can be made for cancellations received on or after 30 days prior to the event date, however, substitutions may be made free of charge at any time.

Insurance
Registration fees do not include insurance. Participants are advised to take out adequate personal insurance to cover travel, accommodation, cancellation and personal effects.