STM Spring Conference Society Day 2021

Timings subject to change
Tuesday, April 27th, 2021

Thank you for your continued support

The ever-popular Society Day returns with updates on key industry initiatives with a focus on how they apply to non-profit and society publishers.  As well as a session of updates on the main technology innovations and workflow improvement initiatives, we will be hearing from a range of publishers on how they bring their publishing skills and resources to serve the mission of their parent organisation more deeply. 

With increasing recognition of the societal benefit of a trusted and authoritative research communication system, we will hear how publishers are committing to support the objectives of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and how they are innovating to bring greater value to those beyond their traditional academic community.

08:30 US EST
13:30 BST
14:30 CET

Virtual conference login 

08:45 US EST
13:45 BST
14:45 CET

Welcome and opening
James Milne
, STM Board Chair & President, American Chemical Society

8:50 US EST
13:50 BST
14:50 CET

Publishing for Purpose

Moderated by Andrea Powell, STM Director of Outreach and Publisher Coordinator, Research4Life

The Covid-19 pandemic has underlined the societal benefit of a robust and trusted research publishing system, and the important role that publishers play in connecting research outputs to real-world outcomes.  This session, "Publishing for Purpose“, explores ways that learned societies and other non-profit publishers are embedding publishing into their mission and/or innovation to provide more direct value to their members, their parent societies, and the wider global community.

This session will feature four presentations covering initiatives such as the SDG Publisher Compact and illustrating how some non-profit publishers are developing strategies and programmes to enhance their contribution to their organization’s mission.

Challenges for Medical Journals During the Great Pandemic of 2020
Eric Rubin, Editor in Chief, New England Journal of Medicine

Taking concrete steps towards achieving the SDGs
Rachel Martin, Information Industry Relations and Communications Manager, Elsevier

The United Nations Global Goals envisage a more equitable and sustainable future for everyone, however with less than 10 years left we are being urged as an industry to take action. The SDG Publishers Compact, launched by the International Publishers Association and the United Nations, in October 2020, is a formalization of the commitments publishers are making to contribute towards the Global Goals. With Elsevier, Emerald, Springer Nature, Taylor and Francis and Wiley as early signatories, the compact demonstrates how STM publishers have embraced the SDGs and are making progress through both sustainable business practices and sustainable content production.

Philippa Grand, Publisher, International Development & Interdisciplinarity, Bristol University Press

Elizabeth Nolan, Deputy Executive Director and Chief Publishing Officer at The Optical Society (OSA)

10:05 US EST
15:05 BST
16:05 CET

Break
During the break, our sponsors are invited to host a breakout room.
All rooms will open at the beginning of the break for you to join and will close
2 minutes before we recommence.
Breakout rooms
J&J Editorial: Optimize your peer review workflow
Scholastica Overview: Sustainable society peer review & publishing solutions
Silverchair Composer: Give more of your content a first-class experience

10:20 US EST
15:20 BST
16:20 CET

What-is-new-in…..Standards and Technology

Moderated by Eefke Smit, STM’s Standards and Technology Director

Several new initiatives by STM in standards and technology are now ready for adoption by Society Publishers.

This session will provide you a series of snapshots on everything you don’t want to miss.

Come and hear how any of the following solutions will enhance your business:

SeamlessAccess.org and Getfulltextresearch.com, now available for all, by Heather Staines (publishers outreach manager

Transparent Peer Review Taxonomy, results of the pilot program, by Lois Jones, Peer Review Manager, American Psychological Association

Detect Image Alteration, a short video for your journal Editors, to recognize this manipulation early

Research Data: Share-Link-Cite, how to join STM’s action program by Joris van Rossum (STM)

And more!

11:30 US EST
16:30 BST
17:30 CET

Research. Publish. Sorted.   
Moderated by: Chris Kenneally, Director Content Marketing, Copyright Clearance Center

In 2021, researchers and institutions are challenged more than ever with maintaining accurate, comprehensive views of funding and submissions alike, as both are often linked to transformative publishing agreements and Open Access mandates from private and government funders.

Publishers can play a pro-active role by ensuring continuous data sharing and disambiguation throughout the manuscript lifecycle. For society publishers, this represents an important opportunity to reinforce relationships with members in the research community. 

The discussion will consider how an automated, standards-driven solution might bring grant information together with submission data; disambiguate authors and their affiliations; and present authors with tools to claim their funder and grant information from within the submission workflow.    

Josh Dahl, Product Director, Clarivate Analytics (Scholar One)

Sybille Geisenheyner, Director of Open Science Strategy, American Chemical Society

Taunton Paine, Director, Scientific Data Sharing Policy Division, The National Institutes of Health

12:30 US EST
17:30 BST
18:30 CET
Close of Day
Ian Moss
, STM, Chief Executive Officer

Who Made That Twitter Bird? - The New York TimesJoin the conversation on Twitter #STMSpringSociety


Events Terms and Conditions

Cancellation
Where an event has registration fees, cancellations made in writing up to 30 days before an event are eligible for a 50% refund. No refunds can be made for cancellations received on or after 30 days prior to the event date, however, substitutions may be made free of charge at any time.

Insurance
Registration fees do not include insurance. Participants are advised to take out adequate personal insurance to cover travel, accommodation, cancellation and personal effects.