Copyright & Legal Affairs Committee

As the voice of academic and professional publishers, STM actively engages with an international community of stakeholders on copyright and legal issues in the digital age, and advocates public policies that recognize the importance of the intellectual contribution of STM publishing to society (quality, innovation, distribution and preservation).

  • Ted Ames, Wolters Kluwer Health
  • Joe Appel, Massachusetts Medical Society
  • Tracey Armstrong, Copyright Clearance Center, Inc.
  • Libby Baulch, Copyright Agency
  • James Bennett, Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA)
  • Susann Brailey, American Institute of Physics
  • Duncan Campbell, John Wiley & Sons
  • Anjou Dargar, Thomson Reuters
  • Mark Dennis, Informa Group plc
  • Annika Dirks, Springer Nature
  • Steven Eden, SAGE Publishing
  • Karen Edmonson, McGraw-Hill Professional
  • Sarah Faulder, Publishers Licensing Society
  • Sarah Fricker, IOP Publishing Limited
  • Fred Haber, Copyright Clearance Center, Inc.
  • Julie Halfacre, BMJ
  • Emma Harbour, Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Guido Herrmann, John Wiley & Sons
  • Abigail Kagle, Oxford University Press
  • Roy Kaufman, Copyright Clearance Center, Inc.
  • Daniel Kulp, American Physical Society
  • Cornelia Manschadi, Georg Thieme Verlag
  • Ed McCoyd, McGraw Hill Professional
  • James Milne, BMJ
  • Kathrin Müllenbach, De Gruyter
  • Jack Ochs, American Chemical Society (Chair)
  • Susan Philcox, CABI
  • Dom Pickersgill, The Institution of Engineering Technology (IET)
  • Jane Reeves, Thomson Reuters
  • Andrew Richardson, Wolters Kluwer Health Medical Research
  • Gary Rinck, John Wiley & Sons
  • Kathryn Robinson, Emerald Group Publishing
  • Adina Rosenthal, McGraw Hill Professional
  • Mark Seeley, Elsevier
  • Silvia Serra, Springer Nature
  • Deirdre Silver, John Wiley & Sons
  • Richard Steele, Taylor & Francis
  • Suzanne Telsey, McGraw Hill Professional
  • Joe Thornton, American Medical Association
  • Elisabeth Traugott, Cambridge University Press
  • Mark Walford, SAGE Publishing
  • Jonathan Wiggins, IEEE
  • Michael Mabe, STM - CEO
  • Barbara Kalumenos, STM - Director Public Affairs
  • Carlo Scollo Lavizzari, Lenz Caemmerer (Outside counsel)
  • André Myburgh, Lenz Caemmerer (Outside counsel)
  • Damian Schai, Lenz Caemmerer (Outside counsel)

The Aims of the Copyright & Legal Affairs Committee 

To enhance and improve awareness and knowledge of copyright and related rights, in particular on the international level, among publishers as well as all other members of the academic and scholarly community and those otherwise involved in the management or transfer of rights;

To prevent and fight piracy and all other unauthorized uses of protected publisher products world-wide in conjunction with other relevant organizations.

Enforcement Task Force

Recognizing that STM needs a regular active group monitoring copyright enforcement priorities, principally in the area of unauthorized document delivery services, the Legal Affairs & Copyright Committee formed a task force within the Committee, which meets on a regular basis to discuss the overall program, investigation results, and strategies and tactics with respect to negotiations and discussions. Click here for more information.