Eefke Smit

Eefke Smit is the Director of Standards and Technology of the International Association of STM Publishers (see ) and coordinates the activities for STM members in the areas of technology developments and standards, such as the annual STM Tech Trends reports, initiatives on research data, text and data mining, access and authentication,and digital preservation. She coordinates the work of the STM Future Lab Group, and is the staff support for the Standards and Technology Executive Committee (STEC) as well as the STM RA21 Task Force. She organizes STM Innovations seminars in Europe and the US and series of webinars for STM members.

Representing STM in a variety of industry-wide standards organizations, projects and working groups, she serves as Director on the Board of IFRRO representing publishers and is Co-Chair of the RDA Interest Group on Data Publishing. She also represents publishers in advisory panels such as the CoData-ICSTU group for Data Citation, the NISO working group on Open Access Article Metadata, NISO’s business working group on Supplementary Journal Information, the DataCite working group on Certification Standards for Data centers, and is a member of Force11. She also coordinates the STM participation in the EU-cofunded projects, such as in the past PARSE.Insight and APARSEN (both on digital preservation) and ODE (Opportunities for Data Exchange) and on the Advisory Board of the 4C project (Collaboration on Clarifying the Costs of Curation).

Eefke has been active in academic publishing for more than 30 years (physics, mathematics, computer science) and in electronic product development (Scopus, ScienceDirect), holds a masters degree in public administration and started her working life as a writer/ journalist on research and technology (in NRC Handelsblad).