STM Spring Conference Innovations Day 2021

Timings subject to change

Thursday, April 29th, 2021

Thank you for your continued support

Two main themes will help to update you on STM Standards and Technology during STM’s Innovations Day this year.

First of all, don’t miss the launch of this year’s edition of STM’s well-acclaimed STM Trends 2025. The motto in this new future forecast is Let’s Go Upstream. That is where Open Science happens and where publishers can showcase their value for scholarly communications. A panel of Future Lab members will provide insights into the impact this may have on our business.

Artificial Intelligence, or AI, is the other main focus of today’s program. STM Publishers will show practical applications improving everyday publishing workflows and adding to better discovery in the literature. Findings of STM’s AI survey will be presented and a panel will discuss best practice principles for AI Ethics.

08:45 US EST
13:45 BST
14:45 CET

Virtual conference login

09:00 US EST
14:00 BST
15:00 CET

Welcome and Opening
 IJsbrand Jan Aalbersberg, Elsevier, chair of STM’s Standards and Technology Executive Committee (STEC) and the STM Future Lab Forum.

9:05 US EST
14:05 BST
15:05 CET

STM Trends 2025: Let’s go upstream

Moderated by Eefke Smit, STM’s Standards and Technology Director Welcome and opening

The new edition of the annual STM Trends 2025 forecast will be presented with the launch of the new infographic.

This year’s theme is: Let’s go upstream, moving closer to the researcher’s workflow. That is where publishers can support Open Science best and improve communications by making it faster, more reliable, and checking for quality and integrity of research.

Upstream is where tools for trust and transparency can be applied to better support the dissemination of all research outputs.

Wander through the Scholarly Fields, dig in the data mines, climb metrics mountain and ride the fast track rapids around Preprint Town.

09:30 US EST
14:30 BST
15:30 CET

Round Table on STM Trends 2025

Moderated by: Chris Kenneally, Director Content Marketing, Copyright Clearance Center, (CCC)

Representatives from research, change managers and members from STM’s Future Lab Forum will discuss the new perspectives of STM Trends 2025 and what it means for their business.

Prof. dr. Lynda Hardman, Director Amsterdam Data Science, University of Amsterdam, Centre for Mathematics

Heather Staines, Director of Community Engagement and a Senior Consultant, Delta Think

Renny Guida, IEEE

John Sack, Highwire Press, Founding Director

10:30 US EST
15:30 BST
16:30 CET

Break
During the break, our sponsors are invited to host a breakout room.
All rooms will open at the beginning of the break for you to join and will close 2 minutes before we recommence.
Breakout rooms
Access Innovations, Inc.

11:00 US EST
16:00 BST
17:00 CET

AI in Publisher workflows

Artificial Intelligence can be applied to various steps in the publishing workflow, for example by recommending reviewers, triaging and classifying submitted manuscripts, and improving search and recommending articles. STM held a survey in the beginning of this year to understand the state of AI at STM members, the results of which will be presented in this session. This will be followed by series of short talks, where publishers will share their experiences. What are the first results? How did it contribute to their goals and scholarly communication in general? And how do they see the future?

With contributions from:

Dr. Sonja Krane, Associate Publisher, American Chemical Society

Mathias Astell, Chief Journal Development & Marketing Officer, Hindawi

Scott Dineen, Sr. Director of Production and Technology, The Optical Society

Marcel Karnstedt-Hulpus, Director Data & Knowledge Technologies, Springer Nature

Dr. Jabe Wilson, Global Commercial Director, Data & Analytics, Elsevier

11:40 US EST
16:40 BST
17:40 CET

AI Ethics in STM Publishing: Presentation of White Paper 
Presented by Joris van Rossum, STM Director Research Integrity            

Artificial Intelligence, in combination with the availability of vast amounts of data, holds the promise to improve science in various ways, but its application also holds risks. An STM working group has developed an AI ethics policy document ensuring prudent use of this technology which will be presented during this session.   

12:00 US EST
17:00 BST
18:00 CET

Panel discussion on AI Ethics 

The STM AI ethics policy will be discussed with publishers, AI and AI ethics experts in a panel discussion.

Dr. Nanda Piersma, Professor of Responsible IT & Director Center for Applied Artificial Intelligence, University of Applied Sciences, Amsterdam

Henning Schoenenberger, Director Books Publishing Solutions, Springer Nature

Jack Ochs, VP Strategic Planning & Analysis, American Chemical Society

12:30 US EST
17:30 BST
18:30 CET

Close of day

Who Made That Twitter Bird? - The New York TimesJoin the conversation on Twitter #STMSpringInnovations


Events Terms and Conditions

Cancellation
Where an event has registration fees, cancellations made in writing up to 30 days before an event are eligible for a 50% refund. No refunds can be made for cancellations received on or after 30 days prior to the event date, however, substitutions may be made free of charge at any time.

Insurance
Registration fees do not include insurance. Participants are advised to take out adequate personal insurance to cover travel, accommodation, cancellation and personal effects.